Corporate Photography, Wedding Photography, Travel Photography, Random People, Fine Art, People, Landscape, Seascape, Long Exposure, Photojournalism

Dalai Lama House, Dharamshala


Dalai lama House_McLeod Ganj_India_Tsuglhakhang Complex_Travel Photography_Dharamsala_Silvia Tomarchio Photography

One of the things i have learnt over the last 30 years of travel is to go with the flow, yes of course a plan but always flexible, those unexpected detours, destinations have often been the best journeys and memories. Earlier this year while in India with purpose to shoot for Alongsiders Org, I made sure I included a few extra days in-between shoots, My intention was to go up to North and greet the mountains! Chatting to a few peeps from Alongsiders, turned out that a one of the guys in Visakhapatnam was from Chandigarh which was half way to my destination, how awesome, they asked if I would change my second shoot from Delhi to Chandigarh!!!! Ummmm yes, they were amazing I was picked up from Delhi airport, thank God for that, too much city for me and would not visit otherwise, a 5 or so hours to Chandigarh. So I met a very cool pastor and a few others who more than happy to help, given only a couple of days I have to make a choice, I love that he looked at me and said “Dharamshala! you will love it, there are so many hippies” how did he know lol. They were amazing, organised my bus and dropped me off at the station.  6 or so hours later!!! But I met one of the most sweetest young ladies on the way, with a story to share……I love that complete strangers can share what they might not share to those closet to you, including myself…..What I didn’t know was that The Dalai Lama has a house and yes he was in the house, I did go up the the high security doors to see if I could meet him of course I knew I needed an appointment! hey if you don’t try at least the answer will always be no! A very cool young taxi driver who saved the day a few days earlier, dropped me off, I had a few hours to kill before my bus back for my 3rd unexpected shoot, a humble village in Punjabi…..and the journey continued, So very blessed, especially when things turnout better than expected!

Dalai Lama_Silvia Tomarchio_Dharamshala

All oiled up after a massage, yes that hike left me a little stiff, oh look there he is, I asked if I could take a photo, climbed up on the chair, trying not to fall, the ultimate selfie!!!!

Leave a Reply

