Corporate Photography, Wedding Photography, Travel Photography, Random People, Fine Art, People, Landscape, Seascape, Long Exposure, Photojournalism

Portrait Photographer


Last night I attended a rather large business event put together by my local council. It’s fantastic to see that they are working so hard to help local businesses grow. My way of supporting my community is to source local businesses where ever possible or at least in Australia.
It was great to connect with locals in business from small to large. One in particular was so great encouraging me to make a quick video about networking, I’m like “noooooo”, she’s like yessss, so i said ‘why don’t you do it?” she says “I’’ll do it if you do it!” so I said, “you go first!” and she did! And then I did! maybe it was encouragement and not taking it too seriously or maybe in was the Moscato! Crazy right, if you know me personally you know I am never short of something to say!
I was asked quite a few times last night “what type of photography do you do?” Well, I’m consider myself and been recognised as a professional portrait photographer and digital artist, it is where my passion lives! Portrait for me expands to corporate, personal portraits and weddings. My style will range from a timeless classic minimal look to a fine art piece created just for you. For me, most importantly it’s the connection created between you and I, the camera, the best lighting for you, to make it uniquely yours, how you would like to present yourself? remembered? your legacy? how would you like to give of yourself to generations to come? For any portrait, its all about team work, while we chat in our first consultations I get to know a little or a lot about you, to a place where you are comfortable and what you would like and happy to suggest, occasionally I hear ‘I can’t model”, well unless you are a professional model, all you need to be is just be you and have fun, the rest is my job. I don’t like to rush any shoot as we all take different times to just go with it, although an hour is usually enough time. I will usually post only one image online with your permission, yes, I know you are excited by the end of your shoot! I do however like to take my time with editing and portraits are personal and should be viewed by you first.
So I looked up the words Portrait Photographer and this is what I found,
A portrait is a painting, photograph, sculpture, or other artistic representation of a person, in which the face and its expression is predominant. The intent is to display the likeness, personality, and even the mood of the person. For this reason, in photography a portrait is generally not a snapshot, but a composed image of a person in a still position. A portrait often shows a person looking directly at the painter or photographer, in order to most successfully engage the subject with the viewer.
Of course it can be more, limited only by the imagination.
The word “photography” was created from the Greek roots φωτός (phōtos), genitive of φῶς (phōs), “light” and γραφή (graphé) “representation by means of lines” or “drawing”, together meaning”drawing with light”.

Portrait photography is a popular commercial industry all over the world. Many people enjoy having professionally made family portraits to hang in their homes, or special portraits to commemorate certain events, such as graduations or weddings. Since the dawn of photography, people have made portraits. The popularity of the daguerreotype in the middle of the 19th century was due in large part to the demand for inexpensive portraiture.
So what are you waiting for? everyone deserves to be acknowledged, loved and be love. To book for a studio shoot in Taylors Hill or on location.

Leave a Reply

